Skip to content

2010 Goals

January 1, 2010

2009, in terms of running, was quite the year for me, starting out not too great, with a pelvic stress fracture in January, and ending with 6 races in a month and a half, and plenty in between. It was a year that deepened my love, and kind of obsession, with running. In order to continue that momentum, here are my running and fitness goals for 2010.

–Run 2 marathons. Cleveland in May and NYC in November.
–Run 5 half marathons. Luckily, there are loads in NYC throughout the year so this shouldn’t be too difficult. First up: Manhattan Half in 3 weeks!
–Get through the year (major) injury free. As I’ve hinted previously, I seem to be riddled with injuries: ITB problems, iffy knees, stress fracture. And currently, I’m having consistent problems with my left shin. I’m taking measures to have an injury free year. How??
–Foam roll EVERY DAY. Not just after running. For me, foam rolling, more than anything, can solve most injuries. It hurts like a bitch when I do it, but works true miracles. If I keep everything loose by foam rolling every day, hopefully I can prevent injuries instead of treating them. Also…
–Ice bath after EVERY RUN. This is another thing I swear by, and totally helped me get over shin splints 2 years ago. I need to do this again, because they work so well.
–Do weight training at least twice a week. Currently, I do no weight training, which probably leads to some of my injuries. I hate weights and the weight area at my gym is scary. I need to get over this, and start weights. I used to do it but just got out of the habit.
–Yoga class once a week and home practice at least 3 times a week. I’ll write more about yoga another day, but I am incredibly inflexible naturally (another source of injuries) and yoga has really helped that. I’ve been an on and off yoga-goer for the past 3 years and finally got into a weekly habit in July which I’ve continued.
–Keep a meticulous running log. Another on and off habit. Want to be ON this one this year.
–Get into the 2nd fastest (red bib) pace group for NYRR. Need a 7:30mm average pace in a race for that one. I think I’m almost there
–Find a running club that works for me and run regularly with other people. Already working on this one.
–Take a day off of formal exercise once a week. Something else I will touch on in another post, but I’m pretty much an exercise addict, and have a hard time taking rest days, another thing that leads to injuries (and I wonder why I get injured so much). I know, in the long run, it is much better for me to take a rest every once in a while.
–Find a place to swim and start swim workouts. Not sure how I’m going to do this as my gym doesn’t have a pool (worst, but cheapest gym ever), but I know swimming with be a great form of cross-training for me.
–Do a long run in each of the five boroughs.
–Do more trail running.
–Do more running sans music. I loved running December’s 15K with no music, and would like keep up with that and rely less on music.
–Sub 30 minute 4 mile; Sub 47 min 10K; 1:45 Half; 6:30 mile in the 5th Ave Mile
–A super random, but still fitness-related goal: read the New Yorker when doing non-running cardio at the gym instead of trashy stuff. Might as well do something for my mind as well as my body while workout out!! :)
–Put less pressure on myself in terms of running and have more fun.

I don’t have a mileage goal, and honestly have no idea how many miles I ran in the past year because I don’t keep a running log, so I have no barometer to bass a number off of. It will be fun, however, seeing where my numbers are.

Lots to do this year! I better get up and go running, then, to start off the year right.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 11:27 pm

    Good luck. Whoah those are a lot of goals. May I recommend the Grand Prix series of Half-Marathons? That would solve two goals at once: 5 half marathons and a long run in each borough. Plus you get a special certificate and bragging rights.

  2. January 2, 2010 1:25 am

    Nice goals – good luck with them! I have some similar ones for yoga and marathons. Cheers to an injury free year!

  3. January 2, 2010 7:12 pm

    Go Betsy! Good luck with the marathons and I hope I can be in Cleveland in May to cheer you on! I have a great photo of you an ice bath if you want it…because I know you do. What is a foam roll?

  4. January 2, 2010 8:34 pm

    Woo lots of goals! You go girl. Im a huge fan of the foam roller, rock on. You’re going to be a busy busy girl between the running, yoga and weight training.. all things I myself strive towards. I did hot yoga last week, wow crazy and gross but a good workout!
    Anyhow, the reason I wanted to comment slipped away for a minute but now its back- I hunted around for a pool last year, visiting a few Y’s, Riverbank State Park (great pool, sketchy at night/morning in the nearby area though) which is $2 to swim and they open the 50m lanes in the morning. I finally settled on the pool at Manhattan Plaza Health Club which is great. My gym/pool membership is $85 a month which is nothing compared to other places in the city but is still not cheap. Its on 43rd and 10th, let me know if you’d ever like to go for a swim, I have guest passes!
    Ok thats enough yapping for me. :)

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 11, 2010 1:53 am

      you can yap all day if you want ;). it’s fun to have fellow runners to yap to!!

  5. January 6, 2010 2:31 am

    Hey, saw you were following me on twitter so I wanted to drop by and say hi!
    Nice blog you got here and good goals for 2010 too! If you’re looking for 5 halfs, I think the Grand Prix is probably the way to go. I did that last year and had a blast (even if the Manhattan Half was really really cold!)
    Keep you your great workouts!

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 11, 2010 1:52 am

      thanks lam! i’m hoping to do the grand prix–always been a goal of mine. hopefully i can make it to manhattan in 2 weeks!!

  6. January 6, 2010 7:05 pm

    Hey! Great blog, I just found it through a re-tweet on Twitter.

    A quick question — do you have an RSS feed? I wanted to subscribe to your site and couldn’t find the link anywhere…. I can only subscribe to an individual post’s comments!

    It’s very likely that I’m being dim and the link is right in front of my nose… help a girl out? :)

    xx K

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 11, 2010 1:52 am

      let me try to figure it out. i thought i had added that, but i could be totally wrong. i’m not a very computer-smart gal.

Trackbacks

  1. Women aren’t competitive…What now!?!?! « Betsy A Go-Go
  2. What You Missed Out On Because Of My Laziness « Betsy A Go-Go

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

