Skip to content

Sleep in and not run, or run and get struck by lightning?

June 17, 2011

Thanks, mother nature…

I’ve been trying, unsuccessfully, for the past few months to get back into running bright and early, before work. That means up at 4:45 and out the door by 5, 5:15. Sounds early, and it is, but I’m a morning person by nature, and used to have a stellar record of waking up and running before work. Nowadays, I set three alarms, and turn them all off as soon as they go off, killing any and all plans to workout pre-work. I really want to make this happen, though, and make early morning runs a routine, especially right now when it’s light out at that time. Running before work frees up my evenings so I can be social, and are also generally more successful because often by evening, my stomach can be a little too off to have a good run.

So, last night I went to bed with the intentions of waking up and running first thing. I set out my clothes, set my three alarms, and was in bed nice and early, ready for a sunrise run.

My alarm goes off at 4:45 and miraculously I’m up. I sit up in bed, about to turn on my light, and my room is suddenly illuminated with a massive flash of lightning. And then a roar of  thunder. I knew it was raining, and would have had no problem running in the rain. A thunder storm, though, and I’m staying inside. Running in a park filled with tall trees, just begging to be struck by lightning? No, thank you. Back to bed for another hour of sleep I went.

The thing is, though, for the first time in about a year, I was totally ready to run when my alarm went off. I was awake and ready to hit the streets. And that one morning when I actually had the motivation, mother nature has other plans. The nerve.

So now the plan is to run after work, which I didn’t want to do in the first place. Can that motivation last throughout the day and get me in my running shoes tonight? We’ll just have to wait and see. Please no thunder storms this evening, mother nature, k?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

