Skip to content

Why finish a paper when I can blog?

February 28, 2012

Best way to procrastinate from finishing a really bad paper? Why, write a blog post, of course.

So, spring semester started, and I’m tired. I feel like all I do is go to work, go to the library, go to class. Take today and tomorrow, for instance. Today I woke up at 5, went to the gym, left for work at 7:30, had one of my best commutes in a long while (and for someone who commutes an hour and a half each way to work, that is huge), worked for a bunch of hours, and am now sitting in the library at school to finish said paper because I know I can’t get any work done at home (and, as shown by the fact that I’m writing a blog post instead of writing the paper, maybe I can’t do work at the library either). And tomorrow? Going to TRY REALLY HARD to get in an early run with Kelly, then I have a 10AM appointment in East Harlem for a school project, then back to the library to write another paper, my least favorite class from 5 to 7, then back to the library to finish paper number 2. There’s not a lot of sleep found in there.

The point of the above paragraph? None. Just to show you that I am justly tired. I mean, I should probably just delete it because I don’t really deserve the empathy.

But…at least I’m hopefully getting a run in! Still doing that, ya know. Although my runs sometimes get knocked off my schedule during really bad weeks (like last week, when I had a very very very scary exam and a horrible project), most weeks, they’re hanging tight and helping me stay sane.

My runs have actually been going pretty well, as a matter of fact. I’m running about three times a week (still keeping the number low to avoid injury from building my miles too quickly) and they’re for the most part awesome. And, I’m slowly adding some speed back into my routine. Not speed work yet (three weeks away, maybe), but I’m running with my Garmin again to keep an eye on my pace, and trying to finish all of my runs with a few miles a bit quicker than the rest of the run. Be that 10k pace, half pace, what have you.

In fact, on my “long” run yesterday, which was 11.5 miles, I finished the run with a loop around the bridle path at 8:05 pace and a loop around the reservoir at 7:35 pace (I did not mean to go that fast on that part). My goal half pace is 7:57, and running 3 miles at that speed-ish on tired legs was hard. Really hard, actually, and I was donzo by the end of that second loop. But, if I want to hit my goal in May, then I need to learn what it feels like to run that pace after running 10 miles. I’ve never trained like this for a longer distance, aiming for a specific pace that is faster than my everyday pace, and I’m realizing that it’s mentally and physically imperative to learn how to run at race pace. And, honestly, it’s pretty fun to really push my body like that. I’m really looking forward to seeing what my leggies can do in the next few months. I mean, as long as my super scary exams are kept to a minimum.

Was the above pointless? Yes. But, isn’t that the point of procrastination? Yes.

And finally, happy birthday to one of my favorite people in the entire world, Molly! I love you, bestie. :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 5:18 pm

    7:35! That is awesome! practicing that pace will make 7:57 feel like a piece of cake :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

