Skip to content

Introductions are Overrated: Race to Deliver 4-miler Race Report

November 22, 2009

Might as well start everything out with a race report! I like to jump right in…introductions are for wusses (or you could just read about me here).

This morning I ran the Race to Deliver 4 miler. First of all, 4-milers are really common in New York City; they kind of replace the stereotypical 5k. Actually, I’ve never run a 5k! But I have run a plethora of 4-mile races. So, I’ve got a lot of times to base this distance on.

I’ve been running this race since college with 2 of my best friends. I have yet to remember how this came about (we went to school in eastern Connecticut…not necessarily close to NYC), but we’ve always run it together. Well, when I say run it together I mean meet together before, run separately because I’m crazy competitive, and then meet at the end and gorge on pancakes. Good times.

The weather was fab, the crowd was pumped and I was feeling good. I’ve been in the 3rd fastest corral for the past year (out of 10 or so, I think) and my goal this year has been to move into the 2nd fastest, which I can with a faster time (New York Road Runners automatically assigns you to your corral based on your fastest race.) and every 4-miler I’ve looked at as my best chance to do so. So, I was planning on going out pretty fast and really pushing myself. I want to wear a red race bib!

The first mile was crowded, of course, and ok. On this route in Central Park, the first mile always includes Cat Hill. For fellow New Yorkers, you know how much Cat Hill sucks. I think it’s worse than the Harlem Hills. But, I kind of like running hills, and finished the first mile in 7:53, which I was pleased with considering the crowd (ick…welcome to NYC) and Cat. Second mile was good along the East Drive…I just found myself cruising, picking off people one by one, my favorite thing to do during shorter races. Find someone ahead of you and beat them. Make them wonder who that perky little girl was, who kinda looks like she’s 18, that just sprinted by. It was a fun mile—7:29. Mile three…ugh. West Drive, 4 rolling hills. I’ve run the loop in Central Park sooooo many times that I know every bump, hill and straight-away like the back of my hand and how my body feels during them. I hate the West Drive. But, I found this girl ahead of me who seemed to be going my pace, maybe a little faster and I just focused on her. Better to focus on her beating her than focus on those hills. I followed her to the end. Mile 3: 7:53. Mile four I just pushed it through to the end. No matter the distance, I like to end a race spent, so I’ve had to learn to push myself in the distance-respective effort. I don’t want to finish a race, no matter the distance, feeling like I didn’t give it my all. So, I pushed everything I had left and finished strong in 7:28 for an even 30:45, a 4-mile PR by almost a minute! And to finish it off, I think it might be enough to push me into the next pace group, but I won’t find out until my next NYRR race, which is the first weekend in December.

I waited for my friends (they finished great!) and we hit the pavement again…for sweet potato pancakes and gossip. In New York, a delicious brunch, and abundant and juicy gossip, is never far away.

Waiting for Sweet Potato Pancakes!

After the race and brunch I came home, switched my watch for Javier, my Garmin, and hit the streets for 6 more miles. I’ve got two 15ks next month…gotta keep those miles up! Overall, a great day of running, friends and important stuff like pancakes.

Up next: Alexandria Turkey Trot 5-miler with my Dad, a seasoned runner and marathoner and my favorite race partner.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. MSM permalink
    November 23, 2009 12:00 am

    Fabulous report! Keep them up 🙂

  2. arielle permalink
    November 23, 2009 9:13 pm

    Yay, Betsy! You’re so speedy! Also, this was so short. Impressive.

  3. November 23, 2009 11:06 pm

    when are you going to come run with me in jersey? lucky for you i can’t run for at least another month. you have until then to build up your courage.

  4. November 24, 2009 2:40 am

    Yay for a new blog and new 4 mile PR!! A 4 mile race would be a fun distance, I wish they had those around here!

Leave a Reply

