Skip to content

I can’t, I have a race tomorrow…

November 25, 2009

This is going to be a much-repeated phrase over the next month. Because I’m running 5 (6 if you want to include this past weekend’s race) races in the next month. That wasn’t the plan, but offering me the opportunity to run in a lot of races is like giving an addict free access to their drug of choice. There is no holding back.

It all started a month or so ago when I went to sign up for the Marathon Warm-Up 5 mile race the week before the NY Marathon. On the New York Road Runners website, when you go to register, they list all the races you can register for at the moment which normally includes races for the next 5 or so months. This time it had listed all the races left before the end of the year. I took a quick glance…and signed up for them all: 6 races. Well, not including the Knickerbocker 60k. That scared me. But, with the combo low costs that NYRR offers members for registration plus my love of racing as well as the ease of clicking the little box next to each race, there was no stopping me. And in about 3 minutes, my calendar for November and December was suddenly full.

So, my race schedule is:
11/26: Alexandria, VA Turkey Trot 5 Miler with Dad
12/6: Joe Kleinerman 10K
12/12: Holiday 4 Miler
12/13: Pete McArdle XC Classic (15K Cross-Country Race)
12/19: Ted Corbitt 15K

And maybe the New Years Eve midnight 4 Miler. I’ve done this the past 2 years with my friend Ali and while I don’t think I’ll run it this year, it’s always a possibility. That race is a blast.

So, to my friends, I apologize for what will be my constant refrain for the next month: “I can’t, I have a race tomorrow.” But, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

