Skip to content

Respecting your shoes, and vice versa

December 10, 2009

IMG_7052
(I’m obviously a slip-off-er. I never untie my laces when I take off my shoes.)

I probably have too many pairs of running shoes in my postage-stamp sized apartment, but all of them are used, and I’m actually looking for another two pairs. From 12 o’clock, I’ve got my old Asiscs GT 2140s that I wear the most right now, as shown by my key holder and D-Chip (always too lazy to take them off…old ones are removed when new ones are put on). Then I have my new 2140s that are being broken in with shorter runs. 2130s that I got about a year ago that I never liked when I got them. Then I realized I did so I’m using them for trail running because I don’t want to mess up my 2140s on the trails. Super old Saucony Omni 6s, which were my go-to until I fell in love with my 2140s, used periodically for cross-training. These ones, however, are totally beat and have holes, and would best be used for, umm, yard work? Too bad I don’t have a yard. Lastly, my newer, but still old, Saucony Omni 6s, used almost always for cross-training.

IMG_7054
I keep my shoes for such a long time, though, because it takes me a really really long time to trust new shoes. I’ve had my new 2140s for almost 2 months and have only done a handful of runs in them. My old ones are perfectly broken in, the fit my feet like a glove and are nice and warn-looking. They’re nice to me and whisper sweet-nothings in my ear. The new ones have yet to even look in my direction; they’re a little stuck up. I’m always incredibly hesitant to do any more than 4 miles in new shoes (and new shoes are new for me until abut 3.5 months in), because I’m scared they will feel weird or cause an injury. And you know what…they might feel weird, but they won’t cause an injury. Old, worn-out shoes will. I get new shoes to PREVENT injuries. What is up with me? It probably took me 3-4 months to transition from my Omni 6s to my old 2140s, and it’s looking like it will be that way to transition to my new 2140s. But, maybe I’ll take a leap of faith and wear the new ones to the 15k of the 19th. Crazy talk, I know.

I’m also looking for a new pair for runners to switch back and forth with the 2140s. I like running in two different models; I feel like it prevents injury. I’ll probably get another pair of Omnis (up to 8 now), because I really like that line. Also, I’m probably getting a pair of trail runners for Christmas, so then I’ll have 7 whole pairs of shoes for one purpose: running. They don’t even fit in my closet.

Does anyone else have a really hard “trust” problem with breaking in running shoes? I feel like it’s really bizarre, but I can’t help myself. I need to warm up to shoes. They need to earn my respect and gain my trust. And if that means buying a new pair 4 months before a marathon, then so be it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. trialsoftraining permalink
    December 11, 2009 7:40 pm

    ha umm okay first of all, i have ONE pair of running shoes at a time. I don’t know where the rest of them disappear to..now that I think about it….hmm…?! your collection is quite impressive 😉

    secondy – NO i have never had kabocha squash!! (re: your comment) what is this?? I want to try it!! 🙂

  2. December 15, 2009 1:20 am

    I love your shoes photo! I have a hard time trusting new shoes, but I keep buying the same pair! Even so, I hate transitioning to a new pair. I usually buy my second pair when my first pair is halfway to donesville, but then the new ones sit in the box for a bit ha!

Leave a Reply

