Skip to content

Yet to be checked-off: Marathon

December 18, 2009

It’s true. I’ve never run a marathon. I’ve done more races than I can count and I love running probably at an unhealthy level. But, I’ve never run that crazy thing called a marathon. I have, however, trained for two of them! And registered for them. Money wasted…grrr.

Marathon #1 that I missed: the Marine Corps Marathon in October of 2008. Training was going great. I was excited to run in DC. My sister and brother-in-law live there and I was looking forward to staying with them and making them cheer for me. One of my best friends ran it in 2007 and I had a blast cheering for her. I was psyched. And then…oh the humanity. I broke my right big toe on September 18th (I remember the date because it was the day after my birthday). A sign fell on my toe at work and disaster struck. Broken toe, stitches, toenail completely gone, bed rest for two weeks. It was so bad (it was the cut/stitches that was worse than the break) that it put me out of running commission for almost three months.

toe

I actually still have problems with it. Tons of nail-bed damage and no nail=mayjahhhh problems. I hate it. And it is very ugly. I’m BFF with my podiatrist now. Anyway, the marathon was out in a heartbeat. It was very sad.

Marathon #2 that I missed: the Philadelphia Marathon in November of 2009. Yup, just a month ago. The reason I missed it though was just really poor planning on my part. I had the busiest fall of my life (which I knew was happening) and was away almost every weekend during September and October, peak training times, and I was missing long run after long run. I can’t do long runs during the week, so it had to happen during the weekend or never. And never happened.

There was my friend Arielle’s bachelorette party in Delaware (former Ms. Couch Cubicle): not conducive to long runs.

batchelorette

Said friend’s wedding: oh no

Those beer bottles? Not conducive to long runs.
wedding

Those shoes I wore during the wedding that were super adorable but actually left me with two numb toes for 3 weeks? Not conducive to long runs.
ow

Then I went to Italy and Paris in October to visit my sister who was studying abroad. Lots of red wine and gelato? Not conducive to long runs.
siena

Packing as much time in with my sister and being ridiculously silly? Not conducive to long runs.
florence

I had a few more trips in there too and just general extreme busyness. In the end, I could have swung training for Philly, but my life just overtook running for three months. It was the best fall of my life, but one that just didn’t include the marathon that I hoped it would.

So, when will I complete this marathon I so long to do? Well, I’m hoping to do two in 2010! The first is the Cleveland Marathon on May 16. I’m from Cleveland and my parents live there so it’s very easy for me. The second is, as you’ll have read, the NYC marathon on November 7. I have no trips to Italy planned and plan on wearing closed-toe shoes all year long to avoid injury.

C’mon 2010! Be my year!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. arielle permalink
    December 18, 2009 8:24 pm

    Yay! I’m totally famous. Also, I remember thinking you were insane for wearing those shoes all night.

  2. December 18, 2009 8:46 pm

    I’m in Cleveland! 😀

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 11, 2010 1:55 am

      i know missy! and a gator at that. considering i’m a blazer, not sure how i feel about that 😉

  3. Jaclyn permalink
    December 18, 2009 10:01 pm

    I yelled at her for wearing those shoes. I was practically throwing the flip flops at her, but she would NOT take them off!

  4. December 19, 2009 2:23 am

    What do you mean no trips to Italy next fall? Didn’t you hear I’m getting married to un ragazzo Italiano? JOKES! Good luck with all the training and hopefully I’ll be able to cheer for you in the Cleveland one!

  5. December 19, 2009 2:24 am

    Good luck on the marathon in 2010. I’m in Cleveland and I’ve done Cleveland and the Towpath marathons, but I also trained for the Flying Pig in Cinti and Akron but had to bail on both of those, one for injury, one for pregnancy. It’s a bummer after the training to not get to the starting line. Ugh.

    *Check out my raw revolution bar giveaway at monicaonthego.com*

  6. December 20, 2009 9:05 pm

    i will totally look out for you in the NY marathon!! how exciting!!

  7. December 21, 2009 9:52 pm

    Two marathons that sound awesome! I think my next one will be the Flying Pig in Cinci…Never been to Ohio, but I hear good things about it, and it’s in the spring. Meets all my requirements.

Leave a Reply

