Skip to content

Speed Work & A Little Rest

January 18, 2010

Part A of this exciting 2-part post.

This past Thursday evening I did a speedwork run with ze team. One of the reasons I wanted to find a team was to work on my speed and do speedwork with a team. Having someone doing the thinking for me and telling me what to do here is the key. Our assignment this week was intervals of 800 meters on the track by my apartment along the East River. I really heart it when things are close to my apartment. It so rarely happens. I travel 1.5 hours to get to my job. I appreciate close stuff. I met my fellow Whippets at the track with a a few butterflies in my stomach, not gonna lie. I haven’t done a formal speed workout since college when I did crew. And that was just optional for me because I was the cox; there was no pressure on me. I was nervous, not really sure how I was going to do.

We set out to do 6-8 intervals of 800 meters, with a slow 400 in between. The point of these is to, obviously, improve our speed, so the key is to push yourself to the max in those 800 meters. Yikes. You shouldn’t be able to speak to your fellow runners and basically feel like you’re going to throw up the entire time. Rock on. It was actually lots of fun! Yes—hard. But that’s the point. Intervals and speed work are not easy. I ran the first 4 intervals with 2 other people, the 5th by myself, and the 6th with Matt, the fastest guy there. When he said he was going to join me for that one, I kinda laughed to myself, because my hard 800 is his easy 800. However, it was by far my fastest interval. I think running with faster people is going to be a key for me to push myself further. My times were:
3:35
3:44
3:39
3:40
3:36
3:23

I actually wanted to 8 intervals overall, and I honestly thought I could have gone faster, but, um, there was my leg. Which brings us to part B.

I’m officially putting myself on a mandatory 2-week running hiatus. Running those intervals were painful. I thought my leg (it’s mostly my left shin but my entire lower left leg and knee hurts) was getting better because it doesn’t hurt that much when I’m not running. But it sure does when I am. A heck of a lot. I’m crossing my fingers that it’s nothing serious and a nice two week break will be what I need. Hopefully just a bad shin splint. I’m pretty sad about this, not gonna lie. Not being able to run really brings me down. It was exactly this weekend last year where you would have found me stuck on my couch, watching 2 seasons of Skins in a row, not being able to move without serious pain because of a pelvic stress fracture. Wowowowow, that was painful. And took me 2.5 months to recover from. It was seriously depressing and I really don’t want to go through that again. I’m pretty sick of dealing with injury after injury after injury. C’mon body, get it together! Ok…enough wallowing. I’m taking a break before anything more serious happens—I tend to push myself until I’m beyond a quick fix. So that’s one thing working for me.

I’m going to spend the next 2 weeks doing a lot of foam rolling, stretching and yogaaaa. Lots and lots of yoga. I actually have a free week pass for next week at a local yoga studio and I plan on taking advantage of it by going every day, so that’ll be fun. And super good for me.

Stay positive. Stay rested. No cheating. 2 weeks off. I can do it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 3:58 am

    So sorry about your injury/pains! I hope you heal up quickly!

  2. January 19, 2010 3:26 pm

    I love interval training! Easy way to see great improvements!

Leave a Reply

