Skip to content

It’s Yoga Week Baby!

January 26, 2010

First, I did something awesome today. I registered to run the 2010 NYC Marathon. Today NYRR opened up registration for people with guaranteed entry (like me, with my 9+1). True, we have a few months to register, but it’s pretty fun to sign up at the first moment possible. So, I’m really, officially in now. No turning back. Fingers crossed everything goes to plan! (ha).

Second, as I mentioned earlier, this is Yoga Week! Pray tell, what is yoga week?? I was lucky enough to receive a free 1 week pass to a new branch of a popular yoga studio here in Manhattan. Now, I am deeply committed to the studio I currently take classes. I’ve been going there on and off for the past 4 years (I can’t believe it’s been so long!) , but have been going very consistently since last July—every week. I love the teachers, I love the style (very intense vinayasa flow), I love knowing the other students, I love the owner’s baby (for real…baby Eli is highlight of my visits), I feel very comfortable here. So why go to another studio? Simple. I like free stuff. A lot. A few weeks ago, one of my friends had free tickets to a screening of that new Amy Adams movie, Leap Year. I had absolutely no desire to see that movie, but it was free. The movie sucked bad, but I could have cared less, because it was free. Free anything makes my day. Therefore, free yoga classes, even though I have a studio that I love, is right up my alley. This is actually a step outside my comfort zone. One of the reasons I love my studio so much is that the teachers know me, know that I’m really inflexible and have to sometimes modify lots of poses for my flexibility—it’s the comfort thing. I know no one at this studio and no one knows how I do yoga. It’s pretty scary and intimidating, but in the end, it’s still just yoga (although I’m waaaay more intimidated by yogis than runners.)

Normally, though, I go to yoga once a week and that’s it, mostly because I can’t afford to go more than once, but also because it’s freaking hard. But, free week!!! So, I’m taking advantage of my running rest and am going every single day. I just came back from day one with jelly arms and messy hair, pretty satisfied with the class I just took, and am trying to decide what I’m going to take tomorrow. I’m excited to see what doing yoga every day for a week does to my body and my flexibility and general tightness I get from running, and to see what happens to my pathetic upper body strength. I know it’s just 7 days, but it’s a hell of a lot more than I do now and it I feel good, maybe I’ll commit myself to doing a home practice everyday as well as once a week in a (my beloved) studio.

I’ll keep you all posted on yoga week as it continues. YOGA!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. MSM permalink
    January 26, 2010 4:56 am

    Yah for Yoga! I am excited to see your progress. It’s funny, I am way more intimidated by runners than yogis. I am also impressed that you have been going to ye for four years when I only started there three years ago 😉

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 26, 2010 11:48 am

      NO! Didn’t we start going winter of 2007? I’m about 99% sure we did. Ok (doing the math in my head), maybe its not 4 years ago, but this is the 4th year.

      • MSM permalink
        January 26, 2010 3:33 pm

        March of 07 is correct, so yes almost into our 4th year. Good luck with yoga today!

  2. January 26, 2010 3:11 pm

    Yeah!!! No turning back now!

    The yoga sounds great! I need to find a yoga studio here!

  3. arielle permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:58 pm

    I think we already know one difference between yoga and running: You clearly have less to say about yoga. 🙂 This was so short, I could read the whole thing in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

