Skip to content

Raw raw raw ah ahhhhh

January 29, 2010

Ro ma ro ma maaaa. Gaga ooo la laaaa. Want your bad romance. (no, this is not a post about Lady Gaga. But, that would be awesome, wouldn’t it?)

Still at it with Yoga Week. I’ll do a full review Sunday night. However, after my class last night I talked to the owners about their rates. Yeah…not happening. I laughed when I left. I’m going to miss the constant yoga, but I do NOT have enough $$ for a monthly membership. Next!

This is about food. That kinda has to do with running, right? Diet and fitness go hand-in-hand, so yeah, it does. First, a little about my diet. I am a strict vegetarian and a most-of-the-time vegan. I eat eggs no more than once a week (if I do go brunch, I’ll probably get eggs) and I avoid dairy as much as possible. I don’t think cow’s milk is good for us anyway and I’m actually incredibly sensitive to dairy, which is why I avoid it. It’s a good thing I actually hate milk (have all my life), don’t really like yogurt, and I would go for many things before I went ice cream (not a fan). However, I LOVE cheese, which makes it hard to be completely dairy free. I have cheese, maybe, once every two months, and carry the Tums with me if I have it. Ok, so, about 99% of the time I’m vegan.

On top of the vegan stuff, I do a full raw day maybe once a month, which is what this post is about! I actually love doing raw days and eating raw and would probably do it more if I had the time and money. I don’t care what raw foodists say—it IS more expensive. Eating raw makes me feel completely different than I do normally; full of energy, very awake and healthy, although it’s hard to describe completely—I just feel especially good! Also, when I eat raw, my hunger is totally different. I’m never get full, but I’m also never completely hungry. All in all, they’re fun, but more time consuming to prepare, so I have to limit myself. I did a raw day about two weeks ago and took photos of everything I ate so show you how I do them.

I started with a banana on my way to work: something substantial to tide me over for my long commute.
IMG_7533

Once I get to work, I break out my favorite part of raw day: All Greens Juice w/ Apple, Ginger & Lemon from an amazing juice place by my apartment, Liquiteria. This stuff is sooooooo good. I have to hold myself back from gulping it down in one sip, I love it so much. If I could afford it, I would drink it every day. But, it is not cheap (I’m not going to tell you how much it is, it’s insane). It kinda tastes like cucumber and parsley and apple and ginger and yumminess. I know that sounds like a weird combo, but it’s fab. So, I sip on that for as long as it lasts, probably an hour and a half.
IMG_7534

If I get hungry before lunch, I break out my little container of raw cashews and almonds, a stash. I have quite the stash of raw nuts and seeds in my kitchen and I always use on raw food days. This day I had about a third of the container.
IMG_7538

Then…lunch! Today it was a massive (and I mean massive, the pictures doe NOT do it justice) salad that consisted primarily of massaged kale. The night before, I massaged kale with cold-pressed olive oil, lemon juice and salt. It’s really yummy. I topped it with a lot of fennel (one of my favorite veggies), half a cucumber and half an avocado. Oh yeah, and lots of raw sunflower and pumpkin seeds. It was fantastic.
IMG_7539

IMG_7541

I had also brought for lunch some carrots to dip into raw almond butter. I was totally full after my salad, so I snacked on this during the afternoon as I got hungry. Forgot to take a picture. Not that hard to imagine though. I didn’t eat a lot though.

Before I left work, I had an orange, which was extra delicious and juicy that day. Mmmm.
IMG_7542

I had yoga that night, which is my very intense class that I love at my non-free studio. I wasn’t hungry, but I knew I needed the energy to make it through the class, so I munched on a cherry Larabar on the subway. I used to think all Larabars were raw, but they aren’t; cherry ones are.
IMG_7543

By the way, nice nail polish job! I do my nails myself, and have no patience to let them dry and set so I mess them up all the time. Sometimes I do them right before I go to bed, then they get totally messed up while I sleep, which is what I think happened here. Lovely.

When I got home I was pretty beat, so I just threw together a pretty unexciting salad. I used probably an entire bag of spinach, more fennel, the rest of my cucumber, and then the other half of my avocado, not pictured. It was fine—nothing terribly eventful.
IMG_7545

Normally I make my raw days a little more exciting and plan them before hand. However, for this one I decided the day before to do a raw day because I was feeling really run down and needed the boost, so I ran to the grocery store last minute and got what I could without thinking a lot. Overall, a delicious day. However, I do remember all day wanted a toasted bagel desperately. I’ve never had a craving like that on a raw day before. It was cold, I was moody, I wanted a bagel. I sucked it up, though, and just ate one the next day. And it was delish. Thus, I will never be a raw foodist.

Up next, writing a post on Poker Face.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    January 29, 2010 6:22 pm

    Hey Betsy!
    I read in your post that not all LaraBars are raw. I was curious if you knew which ones were NOT? I don’t practice a raw diet but like you, enjoy it every so often. Thank for the info!
    -Stephanie

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 29, 2010 6:34 pm

      I’ve noticed that some say on the package 30% RAW, 60% RAW, 100% RAW, whatever. And some don’t say raw at all, so I’m not quite sure. On raw food days, though, I just stick with the 100% raw ones. I know, however, that PB Cookies and PB&J are not raw (those are my favorite flavors).

      • Stephanie permalink
        January 29, 2010 6:35 pm

        That’s interesting – thanks for the heads up! And yea, PB&J is my fav too!

  2. arielle permalink
    January 31, 2010 12:07 am

    Can you take me to liquiteria please? I have some questions for these people. Granted, I have not been juicing since 1996, but it’s been a good four weeks and I think I should be improving at a faster pace.

    • Betsy permalink*
      February 1, 2010 1:54 pm

      We will go. You should ask them for tips on how to avoid another celery disaster of 2010.

  3. February 1, 2010 2:29 am

    Way to eat raw, baby!

    • Betsy permalink*
      February 1, 2010 1:54 pm

      I always use your site for raw guidance!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

