Skip to content

You’ve Come A Long Way Baby

February 11, 2010

Not gonna lie, I’ve been thinking a lot about this past Sunday’s race. I didn’t get the time I wanted, and that was disappointing. Yeah, I got a PR, and I pushed myself and was (am) still injured and blah blah blah. Whatever. I went in with a set number in my head, 30 minutes; 7:30mm pace, and I didn’t get that. When you have such a set goal, no matter how close you are, if you didn’t make it, it’s a bummer. Ever since then, bopping around my head has been “well, maybe you could have pushed yourself hard”, “maybe you could have stayed entirely on the inside of the course to avoid that extra .04 miles” blah blah blah. A little reminiscent of the Kleineman 10k, ya think?

Ok…snap out of it. Reality check time.

Let’s take a look at my first 4 mile race as a “real” runner

Race to Deliver 4 miler in November of 2007

Overall Place  Gender Place  Age Place  Finish Time  Pace/Mile  AG %

2629                           985                      422                 36:14                   9:03             53.0%

And here we have Gridiron 4 miler this past Sunday.

Overall Place  Gender Place  Age Place  Finish Time  Pace/Mile  AG %

1005                              145                     54                     30:19                   7:34           63.4%

An improvement of 6 minutes and a 1.5 mm pace?

You know what Bets, there is nothing to be disappointed about.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:04 pm

    That’s good perspective. Goals should be something to stretch for, and if they all come easily as a matter of course, they’re not really goals, they’re mileposts.

    This winter I’m looking to go under 7 minute a mile for a distance of at least four miles. I used to run that fast consistently, so I’m bummed when I “only” run 7:15. But six months (and ten pounds) ago it was a struggle to break 8 in a little four-miler in the Bronx. We’re all coming along….

  2. February 12, 2010 1:11 am

    Seriously, you should be PROUD! I understand being disappointed, but you will shave those itty bitty seconds next time. For now, celebrate your success! Congrats on how far you’ve come. 🙂

Leave a Reply

