Skip to content

I could have been in the Olympics…

February 19, 2010

All these pictures are from Ice Shows, i.e. group performances, not competitions. I dug these up when I was home over Christmas. Next time I’m home, I’m going to have to dig up competition photos.

precision
My awesome, and short-lived precision team. I’m bottom row, second from left, missing teeth.

Who else is loving the Olympics? It’s kind of in my blood to be obsessed. I grew up being glued to the TV every four years watching the Olympics, mostly during the Winter Olympics, but in the summer too to watch the gymnastics and diving (omg…how much I wanted to be a diver. Too bad diving boards STILL scare me. No joke.)

pink panthers
Pink Panthers. Far right.

During the Winter, it was skating, skating and more skating. I was a skier, but skating was my life until I was 14. I still remember watching Katerina Witt doing her Carmen program, idolizing Kristi Yamaguchi, the drama at my rink when the Kerrigan/Harding stuff happened, bawling my eyes out when Sergei Grinkov died, Michelle Kwan coming into the scene. I had lunch once with Tara Lipinksi, and met every famous skater in the 80s and 90s at one point or another (my skating club was infamous for bringing in wonderful skaters for our ice shows).

fairy dust

Fairy Dust in Peter Pan.  My second ice show.  Far right, standing.

It was my life: I spent a lot of time at the rink, all my friends were skaters, I spent one entire summer skating (I regret that actually) and when the Winter Olympics came about every fours years, everything stood still to focus solely on watching. So, I’m having a blast right now watching, remembering everything I once knew.

emeralds

Emeralds, whoa sexy.  Those were quite scandeous at the time.  Third from right.

I felt really ill last night, but still forced myself to stay up till after midnight last night (that’s really late for me; I’m such an old lady) to watch the men’s long programs, rooting for Lysacek, Takahashi (what an amazing skater) and my absolute favorite, Johnny Weir (who deserved a much better score. Weir is a classic, old-school skater with amazing elegance and perfect technique. That has been lost and isn’t appreciated with the new stupid scoring system). And all the while watching, I can’t help but think, what if I had continued skating, gotten really good, and was in the Olympics?

girl

I Enjoy Being a Girl from South Pacific.  My favorite Ice Show routine EVER.  Third from right.

Too bad I SUCKED!!! Yeah, I put a shit-load of time, energy and MONEY into a sport I was not good at. I hated competing due to intense stage-fright and had a hard time getting my jumps because I was an incredibly cautious kid and was scared of falling. Ummm…there’s a lot of falling in figure skating. Maybe I was in the wrong sport. It was a blessing in disguise when I was 14 and had that huge fight with my mom about getting new skates which led to me quitting, which led me to tennis, which led me to running, a sport I am actually good at.

gumdrop

My younger sister, as a Twinkling Star, and I, as a gum drop.

However, no matter how bad I was, I loved the skating culture, and still do. Therefore, these two weeks are amazing for me; the memories flood back of me standing in my SP Teri skates, my favorite blue competition dress and garish show make-up, with my coach Erica, waiting for my competition to start, wanting to throw up. Nowadays, I’m standing in my yellow corral, standing in my Asics and favorite North Face running shorts, waiting for a race to start, wanting to throw up. And this time around, I’m actually doing pretty well. 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 5:39 pm

    I was looking for my pic with Scott Hamilton and I couldn’t find it. 😦

  2. Betsy permalink*
    February 19, 2010 5:51 pm

    Oooo–you’re home. I forgot. Do some searching in the photo room (when Mom’s not home) and find some of me skating!

  3. February 19, 2010 7:01 pm

    My skating career lasted one month. You were super cute! I looooove the olympics!

  4. February 20, 2010 5:43 pm

    Looooove the pictures!!! So cute!!!

    -emily http://www.emilyeatsclean.wordpress.com

  5. February 21, 2010 2:12 pm

    Oh my gosh… cutest pictures ever!!!! Love all the outfits! Heh 🙂 I used to do gymnastics when I was little, and was equally not good. I also ended up playing tennis and running! And swimming in between 🙂

    • Betsy permalink*
      February 22, 2010 11:10 pm

      I can’t do a cartwheel. You’ve got me beat on that 😉

  6. February 22, 2010 10:56 pm

    Betsy too cute!! And I find it hard to believe you weren’t good at it!
    Are there videos?!!!

    • Betsy permalink*
      February 22, 2010 11:10 pm

      oh god, i’m sure there are videos. my dad taped everything, as did my BFF’s dad, and he was at most skating competitions. i have no desire to see them.

      and i was bad…soooooooooooo bad.

Leave a Reply

