Skip to content

What You Missed Out On Because Of My Laziness

April 26, 2011

Since I went on blogging hiatus (can we call it that?) over a year ago, it hasn’t been just sitting on the couch eating bonbons the entire time. There’s been pizza in there too.

It’s actually been a pretty freaking awesome running year for me, as a matter for fact. A banner year, you might say. Too bad I wasn’t blogging during it. :/


I got my first red race bib, which, no joke, almost made me cry. I’ve gotten more since, but I’m still pretty solidly stuck in the yellow corral. 2010 wasn’t the year of speed for me. But, not every year has to be!


I did Ragnar New York with the Whippets, which was a blast and a half. I’m dying to do another ASAP. Anyone need a team member? And wants to fund me? And wants to find some free time for me to do another relay?


I meet Kara Goucher and Paula Radcliffe during the Mini. Too bad that is the same day I very sadly lost my new camera, so the only photographic evidence is my signed bib. I swear I didn’t write those signatures.


I decided about two months beforehand to do a 50k trail race. Yup. That definitely wasn’t on my list of goals for 2010. But, the opportunity was handed to me, and I took it. I did the Vermont 50k in September of last year. An absolute blast and the hardest thing I’ve ever done. I’ll write a separate, entire post on that experience. It deserves it. And the plan as of now is to do it again this year. Pending a cooperative school schedule.


I finally completed my first road marathon! NYC Marathon in November. It was amazing, and I can’t wait to do it again this year. This also needs it’s own post. Lets just say that my leggies felt great…my tummy on the other hand was an angry angry beast that day. Yowza


I spent a beautiful November day helping to pace some amazing friends during the Knickerbocker 60k. I’m still in awe of them. What a fun, awe-inspiring day that was. Maybe I’ll run it this year. Maybe…


I oddly won the Most Extreme Female award for my running team. I disagree, as there are many more extreme than I am, but I proudly lived up to it the next day, running a race hungover in the most ridiculous, monsoon-like conditions the next morning.


And most importantly, I became an Aunt! Not running related, but I don’t care, because I’m completely 100% obsessed with my adorable nephew Alex. I like to show strangers on the street pics of him on my phone.

Among all those big things, I ran countless smaller, but no less exciting races. It was my biggest running year to date. Just wait to hear what 2011 has in store. Well, once I get my running mojo back…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 3:07 am

    I am SO glad to see these posts in my reader!! I can’t wait to hear about your 2010 running (like the marathon!) and your adventures in 2011 as you get re-motivated!!

    • Betsy permalink*
      April 27, 2011 12:35 pm

      Yay!! Considering you’re one if my first bloggie friends, I’m so glad you haven’t banished me from your life b/c of my inconsistency 😉

Leave a Reply

