Skip to content

My Jump from Summer to Winter Running

January 4, 2012

In my previous post, I said I went on an official running break after the New York City Marathon, which was November 6. The unofficial start to that break, however, was much earlier. I started feeling twinges of injury in mid-September (on my birthday, no less), and proceeded to do all I could do to prevent the injury from becoming severe while maintaining enough fitness to finish the marathon. Therefore, between September 17 and November 6, my running was down to a bare minimum. In the seven weeks during that period, I probably ran a total of six times, and that might be pushing it. In fact, I didn’t run once between my last long run three weeks pre-marathon, and marathon Sunday—I did a not-recommended Super Taper (hiiiiii Meggie).

Anyway…what am I getting to?

Oh, right. The fact that I ran no more than 10 times between September 17 and this week. That is not a lot. Nope. I basically missed out on the best time of year to run. Autumn. Perfect temps. No humidity. Crunchy leaves to run over. Lovely autumn colors. I pretty much missed it all. My favorite running outfit is a long-sleeved shirt and shorts, ideal for the crisp autumn running days. But I pretty much time-traveled and missed that perfect time period. I jumped from tank tops and shorts (when you’re already sweating before you start running) to running tights and 3+ layers on top. I should plan on getting injured during winter next time…

So I went running this morning. Wearing tights for the first time of the season. Holy smokes, it was cold.

Hi running tights. And cold ankles.

Also, it was my first time back on the bridle path. Ohhhh, bridle path. The love of my life. I haven’t run on my beloved bridle path in Central Park since early September. It is easily my favorite place to run in NYC, and I missed it so much. It looks quite different than it did the last time—bare trees, ice patches, barely anyone running—but it still feels awesome. Even in my running tights and two pairs of gloves and ear warmers.

So I missed long-sleeved-shirt-and-shorts weather. Whatever. And now it’s omg-I-can’t-stop-running-or-my-legs-will-freeze-off weather. But, that’s the awesome thing about being a lifelong runner. I’ll be an autumn runner next year. And counting down the days until then. I suffer though it, but I do not like winter running.

Winter running is better than no running, though, and beggars can’t be choosers. Off to find the rest of my running tights. And gloves. And hats. And under armor. And smartwool socks.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 1:03 am

    I am so, SO glad you’re back to blogging (and running!)! And I agree, winter running is better than no running!

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 4, 2012 1:04 am

      Teehee…I’m the spaciest blogger ever, aren’t it??! But yay for consistent blog friends!!

  2. January 4, 2012 1:42 am

    Comment

  3. January 4, 2012 2:30 am

    glad you had a great morning run! and i love your blogging. please keep posting 🙂

  4. January 4, 2012 1:04 pm

    Gaaahhh I always seem to miss at least some of that perfect fall running because of injuries too! BUT, you’re right – winter running is way better than no running. I’m so glad you’re back on the bridle path! Also hooray for winter break and giving our brains a rest 🙂

    • Betsy permalink*
      January 4, 2012 1:23 pm

      I heart winter break! Geez, did my brain need a rest. I’m soooo not ready for spring semester to start… :/

  5. January 4, 2012 3:24 pm

    Welcome back to running and blogging!

  6. January 4, 2012 3:52 pm

    Welcome back!!! Happy to be reading your blog and also hope to go for a run sometime 🙂

  7. January 4, 2012 9:06 pm

    Fall is my favorite running season too. Good news is that it is supposed to be in the 50s this weekend! Time for shorts again 🙂

  8. January 5, 2012 11:51 pm

    hiiiii betsy i am sara (susan’s roomie but not current roommate) and i am excited you are blogging because i always hear how fun you are from susan and now i get to hear about it from you! wooo. nice to “meet” you!

Leave a Reply

