Skip to content

Ramblings from My Run

March 3, 2012

One nice thing about training for a half instead of a full marathon is that my long runs are never really “long.” I’ll probably peak at 14 or 15 miles for my longest run during this training cycle, which isn’t intimidating like a 22 miler can be, and it doesn’t seem to take over my whole day. I’m kinda into this half marathon training thing.

I headed out bright and early this morning—still riding on this inability-to-really-sleep thing. I had 12 miles on tap, and had originally planned on running up the Hudson, out and back style. But, my Garmin was being a little bitch today and I decided to stick to Central Park because I know the distances really well. The weather called for a full day of rain, which I wasn’t necessarily looking forward to, but when I stepped outside it was just misty and quite foggy. Perfect! And fun! The fog was especially evident when I hit the park; you couldn’t see across the reservoir in the slightest.

Because my Garmin really wasn’t working in the slightest (and it might be dead for good, by the way. RIP. Anyone want to buy me a new one? Because I cannot afford it), I did a route that I had measured before of being a little over 9 miles, which with my run to and from the park, would equal about 12 miles.

A few things of note:

  • There was NO ONE out when I got to the park. Did the rain deter everyone? It’s just a little water, people. For the first hour I probably saw 10 other runners.
  • There was a bike race going on. I knew there were bike races frequently very early on weekends, but had never witnessed one. It was so fun to watch! Those crowds of bikers! Like a mini Tour de France! I would totally cause the most ridiculous bike pileup if I were riding with them. Also…cyclists…hottttttttt. Just saying.
  • I got a stomach cramp around the 5th mile. I haven’t had a stomach cramp in years. I know there are tricks to make them go away, but had no idea what to do. I tried to take really deep breaths and run through it, but I eventually had to stop and take a break for it to go away. Ugh. Annoyed. Hopefully that won’t happen again.
  • I felt really good today. Like, really really really good. Strong, energized, not fatigued. I feel like I’m on a roll with my running right now, and I like it. This hasn’t happened to me for a long time. I’m sure it won’t last forever, but I’m loving this.
  • I saw a girl from my research methods class last semester running with her dog. I wanted to say hi and play with her dog. I didn’t. I regret that.
  • Actually, when you hit Central Park in the early hours, there are LOTS more dogs than normal. I want to stop and play with all of them. Every single one. I want a dog. sigh.
  • I finished my run with a loop around the Reservoir, which was really stupid. Everyone knows that when it rains, the path around the Reservoir is riddled with giant puddles that are basically impossible to avoid. At first I tried to avoid them but it was impossible. I ended up just running through the puddles, which was actually pretty fun. But now my shoes are soaked.

Overall, a really great run (except for that damn cramp). I’m having fun on this training cycle, and it’s basically keeping me from going crazy this semester. Running FTW.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 2:02 pm

    Oh man, I was out at the same time! the fog was GNARLY! and the bike race is always a good distraction. One of the many favorite reasons I have for getting out early on the weekends is all of the dogs. so many dogs. happy place 🙂

  2. March 6, 2012 6:19 pm

    I want a dog, but it wouldn’t be fair! – Sh*t New Yorkers Say

    Also – I think there is a website where you can “rent a dog” for an afternoon from a dog shelter. We should look into that.

    Congrats on a great run!!

    • Betsy permalink*
      March 9, 2012 11:46 pm

      Something I say every day. I’m gonna make it happen though! I need a pup!

  3. btam permalink
    March 12, 2012 8:49 pm

    Which half are you training for? Brooklyn? And those tricks for stomach cramps are just old wives’ tales – none of them work!

    • Betsy permalink*
      March 12, 2012 8:50 pm

      Brooklyn.

      I like that you’re commenting on EVERYTHING right now. Go, benny, go!

Leave a Reply

